Hi all,

I'm new to the forum. I live in WA and ride mainly hardpack terrain/gravel, occassionally with some soft sand. My favourite terrain is sand dunes and beach riding, so im looking for a bike to deal with all that...

My background is riding 2 strokes, so i like the feel of the two stroke powerband and being slightly out of control, but also need something torquey for the sand. I'm considering a KTM 300 or 250 exc.... OR (big step for me), going with a fourstroke 450, maybe a CRF 450X..

Any advice/recommendations would be much appreciated ;) also if anyone knows which years of these bikes were the best etc..?

Cheers.

ktm 250/300 would be a great bike,2009 and on had better suspension with 2011 on going to a 6 speed box.

for sand i would recommend a 4 t though. a wr450 for supreme reliability or a crf450 x would be a great choice and both have been unchanged for many years,as they're a sorted package. just get a well maintained one with as least work as possible,year doesn't really matter on these 2.even a 2009 on klx450 at a ripper price would do the job but are a little less performance orientated,but still a easy to live with,excellent trailbike.

Cheers cluffie,

Yeh a mate of mine has a 2000 rmx250 and its a beast on sand so i thought a 300 might do the job.. So 450 4T is the best option for sand because of the torque right?

Has anyone ridden the two stroke EXCs in sand?

I've got a 300EXC and have done lots of riding in WA around Lancelin, Wanaroo, Collie, Margret River, including a 3 day ride with West Coast Safari's (Kirup) & a 2 day ride with the Paunchy Pipeline Pigs (Kalgoorlie). Will climb any sand dune with a knobby, riding in the dunes you pretty much have to be on the pipe the whole time to keep the front wheel out of the sand, not sure how a 4t would like this.