HairyTrails

Ktm 250 exc for beginner/intermediate?

I wouldn’t say im a full beginner now but I deffiently need a new bike my Crf250r is Beating me up something silly every ride on the trails and I’m starting to hate riding because of it. Close ratio/bad top speed/hard suspension/bad lugging etc

I’ve always loved 4 strokes but came across a 2011 ktm 250 exc with 700kms on it for $5,500 which I think is reasonable. Are these good bikes? I want something’s I can easily ride all day without it bashing me up

Ktm 350 or husky 350! Maybe the choice or wr 250 Yamaha . I have a ktm 300. & not ridden the bike for long time so I definitely need to get my bike fitness up . I'm cone,plating selling my kato 300' to a wr 250. If I find it hard going ,leg cramps feeling beat etc he he .

Had a 14 husky 250, awesome bikes, but it wouldn’t be my first choice as a beginner/intermediate rider. They are awesome fun, but I found they can beat you up a bit and perhaps not as forgiving.

I also agree that a KTM/Husky 350 4T or even a Beta 350, sherco 300 4T etc would be better than the 250.

Alternatively, a 300 2T that you can lug around would be easier than a 250 in certain circumstances 

• Like 1

I'm in the same boat, i'm going down the other side of the hill so i need a bike that won't get me into trouble later in the day ;) , i rode a Beta 250 & 300 2 stroke & found the 250 had a MX type powerband great  fun ? But could wear somebody out if there not too fit, were the 300 i could lug around on & did not need to have my finger on the clutch thinking it might stall ;)

The other thing is, i find it strange that an 8yr old bike has only 700klm on it, is should look like new ! If it's been sitting around for a long time oil/petrol would have gone off, bearings could be shot & tyres past there use by date, so it probably would need a bit of work where i would be happy with it, plus i think it is overpriced !

• Like 2

The 11 250 are a great bike with plush oc forks.