Lyric

Female help with choosing bike

I'm recently (at 30) getting back into riding, haven't really since I was a kid. My original intention was to get a road bike. I bought a cheap chinese bike that is 200cc and super low, easy to ride just to relearn the basics. But... I'm having fun on the farm and on the trails so now I'm leaning toward an off-road bike. My dad would prefer me not on the road too and as a nurse I see plenty of accidents. I was looking at 2 bikes - the crf230f and ttr230. Pretty much because I didn't want to go down in power and they were the best height-wise (plus have done a bunch of online research and want a slower trail style not a racer). After briefly sitting on both, the crf was far comfier and I prefer Honda so was leaning toward that. 

My dilemma is - I've read a bunch of forums on similar topics and its 99% of the time guys saying no get a 2 stroke!!! crf/ttr are too heavy and underpower and other non constructive things. Plus I've spoken with a few motorcycle shops and they all give different opinions and/or talk to me like an idiot. The style of riding I'm currently doing is farm and trails, mostly chugging along from 30-60km/hr. Not interested in jumping or tearing it up at this stage, just something reliable with decent suspension unlike my cheapy. So those bikes seemed ideal.

One opinion I have been told is that the crf150f is the same bike, just a bit smaller. That the engine is technically smaller but at the speeds I'm doing you will not notice a difference in power OR acceleration, only top speed is really different because the 230 has a 6th gear. Anyone tested this out and think that's true? I sat on it and it is certainly comfy in that it feels very light and I can touch flat feet. But as I said, I didn't really want to go down in power (though my cheap 200cc engine may be not as good as it who knows), plus I'm heavy and it's built for kids.